• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 August 2008 - 02:34 PM

Hi all,

I'm a consultant working in the flexible packaging industry and have just been asked to Lead a HACCP team towards compliance with the new BRC/IOP standard.

All new to me, just had some provisional training in HACCP and will undoubtedly be asked for advice in the coming weeks.

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,797 posts
  • 721 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 August 2008 - 04:25 PM

If you're going to have to lead a HACCP team, I'd definitely get the intermediate qualification first (or whatever the equivalent number is now) or otherwise you're bound to get tied up in knots.

I have to admit I didn't know that primary packaging suppliers were starting to use HACCP. I suppose it makes sense as primary packaging is effectively like an ingredient in a process as it touches the food; it can also carry food safety information (particularly on allergens). I would still suspect though that more of the controls you need are around quality rather than food safety.

MartLgn

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 155 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 August 2008 - 04:45 PM

Hi JBW and :welcome: to the forums.

I was until recently the HACCP team leader in a large packaging plant and would agree with GMO's suggestion that you get yourself on a Level 2 HACCP course at the first opportunity. If I remember correctly Version 5 of the BRC/IOP standard is the first one to explicitly name HACCP as a requirement as opposed to a more generic Hazard Analysis system mentioned in previous editions. The trick when applying HACCP to a packaging production process is to get your prerequisite programmes working robustly as there are usually very few if any CCP's within flexible packaging production.