• Quick Navigation
Photo

Free fatty acids in milks - Potentiometric method?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
- - - - -

poppysnoss

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 146 posts
  • 10 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:07 PM

Hello All.

I have recently inherited an autotitrator which seems to have the ability to measure free fatty acids in milk/cream samples amongst others. However, I have no solid knowledge of these machines and there are no instruction booklets etc with the kit.

A bit of a long shot, but I wondered if anyone had any knowledge or experience of potentiometric analysis of FFA? I've had a quick look online but can't find anything substantial. :dunno:

I would be extremely grateful if anyone had any information.

Many thanks in advance

Poppy

Edited by poppysnoss, 22 February 2009 - 11:07 PM.

AS NUR

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 582 posts
  • 60 thanks
Neutral

• Indonesia
    Indonesia

Posted 23 February 2009 - 01:43 AM

Dear Poppy..

I use manual method to measure FFA in Non dairy creamer product .. in this procedure we use alcohol neutral to disolve the sample, and we doing titration, Acid base titration, using Phenolptalein as Indicator...

So. with this information.. IMO.. you have to know about the end point of your titration ( Potential electrical ) of your system, you can find that "end point" by using manual titration, at " the end pount", the solution give Pink colour if you using PP indicator, you have to measure the potential electric. after that you can put the potential electrical number to your equipment ( autotitrator) as "the end point" set....

And verify ..you have to compare the data between manual and autitrator..to make sure that your autotitrator is run well...

Hope can help you...

rgds

AS Nur

SaRaRa

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 186 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth