• Quick Navigation
Photo

Packaging into glass bottles - what are the risks?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Bob

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

Posted 08 April 2009 - 04:30 PM

Hi,
I have just joined up to this forum and am really intereste in foidning out more about packaging into glass.
I am a brewer by trade and am sitting various exams around brewing operations. I am familiar with the HACCP approach up to the point of packaging but from there I am stuck!
Specifically I am keen to understand more about the risks to operators, the consumer and to equipment that packing into non returnable glass poses.
Any information is most welcome! Thanks in advance.

Marco

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 43 posts
  • 10 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 April 2009 - 12:00 PM

Hello Bob,

This is the only help I can give now.

Risks to Operators: probably need to be assessed from the H&S point of view. I can only think about cuts or wounds caused by glass chips but I am sure there are more.

Risks to Consumer : I can only think of glass chips inside the bottle

Risks to Equipment: Sorry, I don’t understand this

May I ask to specify a bit more what your concerns are?

I can’t fully understand the link between HACCP and the risk to operator and to equipment.

Regards,

Marco

Bob

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

Posted 09 April 2009 - 01:14 PM

Hi Thanks Marco for your reply.
Some ideas I have for the groups..
Operators - PPE and workwear, a system for cleaning up breakage 'as you go', noise exposure - we bottle at 30000bottles/hour which exceeds 85dB limit
but i cant think of anything else!