• IFSQN Associate
  • 38 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Greece
    Greece

Posted 20 August 2009 - 02:28 PM

Hi,

I work as a Food Safety Coordinator for a pet food company. Our's is a 2 year old factory, I have started working since 7 months (first job ever!). In my factory we do not have a technical or quality department. I find it difficult to work on my own most of the times. I do not really know if I am doing my job good or not since no proper technical members to tell me anything.

There are few questions, for which I might find answers from the forum.

1. I do the product review, where I check the finished product samples for different parameters and record it. Any thing, that concerns food safety or quality is discussed with during the morning meet everyday. The problem I have here is: the print quality of the best before and other information when not legible is discussed but I do not know how we can improve it? Because the corrective action is not discussed in the meeting.

2. I also take the measurements of the food and need to take an average and see if it is in spec or not. I do not have the specification list for all the different products we make. So, it is of no use me measuring the food. The Process and Quality Manger has them, he wont give me even when I have asked me many times. I am bored of asking him, since it annoys him when I ask him.

3.Our factory is located around the fields so, the risk of pest is even more when you compare to other locations. The doors both internal and external are kept open most of the times. We run 24hrs and night time no one is there to monitor other than the operators.
The Managers take huge amount of interest in production and how many tons we have made and sent away from the factory.