• Quick Navigation
Photo

Tool sanitization and accountability - Ultrasonic Cleaning?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

Gramslam

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 9 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 12 May 2011 - 03:07 PM

Hello all,

I'm a maintenance engineer for an Organic snack bar manufacturer. Am am looking for information on tool sanitization for tools that come into contact with food processing equipment. I've been loooking into adding some ultrasonic cleaners to take care of this.
Currently I'm using every precaution to prevent any tools from contacting anything that may come into contact with food. All the tools are locked into a tool box, and I'm the only one with a key. After I finish maintenance or emergency repairs, the tools are hand cleaned with dish detergent, rinsed, then sprayed with vinegar and dried, then signed back into the tool box.
This is absorbing a significant amount of my time. Time I would like to spend with my machines ;o)

So to summerize:
1, Can I replace all hand washing of tools with an UItrasonic cleaner
2, What solution chemistry would best suit ultrasonic cleaning in an Organic certified plant
3, If Ultrasonic cleaning is suitable for maintenance tools, would it also be ok for the kitchen tools as well?

Thanks to all who read and/or respond.

Cheers,
G

MKRMS

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 57 posts
  • 31 thanks
Neutral

• Ireland
    Ireland
  • Interests:Food microbiology and related fields: conservation, cooking, cooling, re-heating, storage<br />HACCP and food safety management in in small and medium sized businesses<br />EU and international food legislation<br />Food Standards

Posted 17 May 2011 - 10:07 AM

Gramslam,