• Quick Navigation
Photo

How do you make up a protocol for micro/nutritional/chemical analysis?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic
- - - - -

SMURF

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 November 2011 - 02:29 PM

Hi folks

I'm a fairly "green" QC in a small abattoir/meat cutting plant, trying to work towards BRC accreditation. A new customer wants our protocols for micro tests. We currently send carcass samples away, as well mince, surface and water. We need to do some shelf life tests on "their" products, as well as a nutritional and a chemical analysis. I just send these to the lab who take care of it.
What would a basic protocol entail? Do I need to mention ISO test numbers for specific pathogens etc? I'm no scientist, so I'm groping around in the dark, somewhat!
Any advice would be appreciated.

Mant thanks
Smurf

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 08 November 2011 - 05:19 PM

Dear smurf,

Not my product area but i thought in UK that the protocol (eg procedures for sample size / analyses / methodology) as described briefly in yr post is detailed / spelled out by certain legislative requirements. If so, you may not know them but the laboratory working with you surely will. The next step would then minimally be a simple request to the lab. for the relevant reference (and possibly a validation that the lab.methods in use actually conform to a given protocol :smile: ). I seem to remember that the "MIG" jumbo document (freely downloadable from FSA) is the prime source for such queries in UK.

Rgds / Charles.C

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

Thanked by 1 Member:

MicroMike

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• Scotland
    Scotland

Posted 09 November 2011 - 10:17 AM