• Quick Navigation
Photo

New to BRC - BRC Certification, Where should I start?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic
* * * * * 1 votes

sweetthang0286

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 12 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 08 March 2012 - 05:15 PM

I am new to BRC and wonder if there is a certain place to start. What worked best for ya''ll when you decided to get BRC certified?

mgourley

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,412 posts
  • 999 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Cooking, golf, firearms, food safety and sanitation.

Posted 08 March 2012 - 06:16 PM

I am new to BRC and wonder if there is a certain place to start. What worked best for ya''ll when you decided to get BRC certified?

The first thing would be to get a copy of the Standard and read through it.
Make notes where your existing programs, policies, procedures, etc may satisfy the requirements.
Review your existing documentation and revise as necessary so that it does in fact meet the requirements.
Then the fun part starts. Creating new programs, etc to satisfy the remaining requirements.

When the implementation guide comes out (rumored to be in April) get that as well. It should steer you in the right direction when creating programs, etc.

Marshall

Thanked by 1 Member:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 09 March 2012 - 03:19 AM

Dear Sweetthang,

It might be useful if you added a little info. regarding yr technical background.

BRC is intrinsically a food safety management project. Are you familiar with the theory / implementation of the core topic of HACCP ?

Rgds / Charles.C

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 09 March 2012 - 11:26 AM