Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 23 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:44 AM

I'm a new Technical Manager for a Bakery and I'm in the process of developing a risk assessment for the purchase of new equipment and machinery. The intention being that this will encompass health and safety elements in addition to food safety. I have various suppliers working on the health and safety aspects of purchase and I'm now struggling to determine a relevant and concise "checklist" for the food safety side. I've covered basic areas such as ease of dismantling for cleaning to prevent harbourage of bacteria, food contact surfaces being supported by evidence of compliance to the articles in contact with food regulations, moving parts and lubrication points being below open food product areas, etc. Does anyone have any examples of templates or checklists that they are using that I might be able to modify for our factory? Our current practise is to go ahead and buy equipment provided its cheap enough and does the job so anything would be better than what we have at the moment!

Thanks in advance.:helpplease:

George @ Safefood 360°

Grade - SIFSQN

• Corporate Sponsor
  • 374 posts
  • 327 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 18 October 2012 - 11:22 PM

Global food standards lay down general requirements for equipment used in the production of food and in particular for those items that come in direct contact with the product. The rationale is simple - the material may pose a risk of contamination and therefore needs to be assessed. In addition the design of the item of equipment may also create conditions over time that pose a risk of microbiological contamination. For example a poorly designed item may be difficult to clean. The materials and standard of construction may be such that through normal use the product may become contaminated with parts, plastic etc.