• Quick Navigation
Photo

Sanitary Drain System - Are We in Trouble?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Urban Explorer

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 86 posts
  • 51 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 05 December 2012 - 11:41 PM

Our facilities audit is in one month. During the desk audit, we discovered that some of our drains are not separated from the sanitary drains. They are trying to figure out a solution (via air traps or whatever you call them, I'm a food scientist not a plumber!), but I am fairly certain that will be a major or critical hit and fail us right away.

Anyone know for sure?

I'm so peed off this is a 2 year old building, this should not be an issue.

Madam A. D-tor

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 644 posts
  • 230 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands
  • Interests:meat, meat products, ready to eat, food safety, QMS, audits, hazard analyses, IFS, BRC, SQF, HACCP, ISO 9001, ISO 22000

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:04 AM

Dear Desiree,

I can understand that you are peed off!
If you believe this will lead to a critical non/conformity, you are actually saying that your products are at risk right now.
You should then take immediately action to your products.
Do not wait until an auditor tells you hat your products are at risk.

Kind Regards,

Madam A. D-tor

Urban Explorer

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 86 posts
  • 51 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 06 December 2012 - 10:12 AM

Our products are not at risk, the drains are connected in the warehouse area where we do not store food product. The USDA approved the building plan, so I'm blaming the government!

This is why I asked what kind of non-conformity people have observed in the past.

Madam A. D-tor

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 644 posts
  • 230 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands