Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 27 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 03 July 2013 - 11:45 AM

Hi, I am new to this & I see that similar has been discussed before but I looking for some advice on my cleaning validation/allergen testing.

We deal with four different allergens one designated area contains gluten & soya while another designated area contains dairy and egg, gluten & soya.  Before my time there has been allergen swabs carried out before and after cleaning.  However, as the areas are designated I am not sure there is a need for this?  I have been told to use dairy and egg kits only to test all areas after cleaning, maybe I am not understanding properly but how can I use these in the area that contains gluten & soya?  One theory I had was just using micro swabs for cleaning validation as areas are designated do we really need allergen swabs??  Also, would rapid kits stand up to audit standards as opposed to laboratory results from lab, although standard we comply to do not specify laboratory testing.

All advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Many thanks!

cazyncymru

Grade - FIFSQN

• Banned
  • 1,604 posts
  • 341 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:02 PM

I had similar issues. We had an area that only dealt with sesame so I never did any validation in this rea, as everything was dedicated and enclosed in the area.

In a second area I had just about every allergen know to man!

We got around it, and this was accepted by the Tesco PIU auditor, in this way.