• IFSQN Active
  • 7 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 04 September 2013 - 03:35 PM

Dear Colleagues,

Looking for feedback concerning a HACCP Plan.

I am new to a company making cakes and cheesecakes and as I am reassessing the HACCP plan I am not convinced that baking temperature needs to be a CCP. There is minimal risk with raw materials for micro and all products are cooled, placed in a blast freezer, shipped and delivered to a customer frozen.  The end user only thaws product for consumption shortly and then it is to be refrgierated or frozen. My conclusion is that the freezing is more critical than the baking to elimate any micro hazards. 

Thoughts? Comments?  Feedback will be helpful. :unsure:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 04 September 2013 - 04:13 PM

Dear Colleagues,

Looking for feedback concerning a HACCP Plan.

I am new to a company making cakes and cheesecakes and as I am reassessing the HACCP plan I am not convinced that baking temperature needs to be a CCP. There is minimal risk with raw materials for micro and all products are cooled, placed in a blast freezer, shipped and delivered to a customer frozen.  The end user only thaws product for consumption shortly and then it is to be refrgierated or frozen. My conclusion is that the freezing is more critical than the baking to elimate any micro hazards. 

Thoughts? Comments?  Feedback will be helpful. :unsure:

Dear jwatford,

Assuming by freezing you mean achieving a core temperature approx 0degF, this does not eliminate microbial pathogens. Not normally regarded as a CCP for this hazard IMO.