Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 27 September 2013 - 04:03 PM

I am new to the world of having to write policies and procedures. In our small grain facility, I have received numerous questionnaires from customers regarding Environmental & Pathogen Programs, Positive Release Programs, and Food Defense Programs. I have a few questions and hope to find answers here :)

#1  Seeing as we are not considered "food grade for human consumption", would a generic, broad basic plan for Environment & Pathogen Program work? (traffic control, dust control, separation of raw & finished product, and effective cleaning & sanitation)

#2 Positive release program....all outgoing loads are sampled, loads sealed w/a clean trailer form accompanying it, samples retained for 24 months, then all info entered on an accountability form...would these procedures constitute a positive release program?

and #3 Can someone explain how a food defense program differs from a GMP program and other policies and procedures?

There is so much information out there, I'm having difficulty sifting through it all. I'm sure I'm not alone on that....but for a "Newbie"....wowsa

So, in advance...thank you very much!!

krl54409

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 28 September 2013 - 12:20 AM

Dear krl,

I'm having some difficulty understanding the context of yr post.

You mention yr product not related to human food safety. Do you mean the intended user / usage will have no  ultimate impact to the human food chain ?  So what is it actually for ?  Petfood  ? (added later - apparently Yes, see the PS below)

i also noticed you made no mention of haccp in yr post. Assuming yr query does primarily  relate to FS for human / animals, this would have probably been in the first line of most posts of this type. Including non-humans.