• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 07 March 2014 - 10:31 AM

Hello,

I'm an intern trying to implement HACCP in an industry that produces carton made packages for food.

I'm wondering if anyone can help me find the biological and chemical hazards probably associated with cartons, and whether there are or not any regulation concerning this subject.

Thank you.

Setanta

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,610 posts
  • 371 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 07 March 2014 - 02:06 PM

Just so I understand, your company makes the cartons?

-Setanta         

Slab

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 441 posts
  • 209 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading (history, science fiction), Photography, drawing,food safety, metrology, TQM, hoplology, etc.

Posted 07 March 2014 - 06:46 PM

Hi, curious-science;

Consider also physical hazards with biological and chemical in a hazard analysis.

I'm not in the packaging industry, but here are a few documents I have squirreled away that you may find helpful;

Food contact substances (FCS) per FDA.

Attached File  HACCP Folding Carton Model-May6_2010.pdf   437.02KB   266 downloadsAttached File  ApprovedFoodContactProducts_22apr10.pdf   174.54KB   242 downloads

Food Safety News  Marine Stewardship Council

"Some people freak out when they see small vertebra in their pasta" ~ Chef John

Thanked by 3 Members:

Charice

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 20 posts
  • 6 thanks
Neutral

• Vietnam
    Vietnam

Posted 10 March 2014 - 03:02 AM

Hi, curious-science,

Till now, in my country doesn't have standard for food carton packaging also. So we have just base on Raw material input and our processing to identify risk/ (biological, chemistry and physical).

Normal, with carton packaging, we usually have kind of risk like as: