• IFSQN Associate
  • 10 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Ireland
    Ireland

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:31 AM

Hi all

Im very new to this scary world of BRC and Quality. I have recently started with a company who extrude Food Contact packaging . They decided to gamble and put me over quality and BRC of which I have no experience with before. My background is H&S. So im here creating a manual and procedures and forms that I don't even know are correct or will work .Its very overwhelming and daunting but it is something I want to achieve for my employers and myself, however I really am struggling and feel like throwing the towel in. my problem is I have nothing to compare against.I know it is a big climb to set these management systems up and once set up its levels off as you maintain it, but this climbing in the dark is killing me.I know this is a big ask but can anyone show me a packaging manual for extrusion or throw me a life line because its the not knowing that is killing me.

Thanks Guys

Mr. Incognito

"Mostly Harmless"

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,571 posts
  • 272 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:48 AM

Gazz you'll find plenty of help here.

However we will need to know what you need help with to help you.  I have never worked with BRC so I may not be able to help you much personally.  But rest assured we will do what we can to assist you in setting up your FSMS.

A good place to start is to try to match up the policies you have with the order the code is in so that you can see what you have and what you need.  You can also see inside the policies you have if you need to add things or rewrite lines so that they match up with what the code requires.  For this purpose I like using binders so that you can get everything in order and it would make it easier for you to keep it together while your trying to get the beginning started.

Edited by Mr. Incognito, 02 July 2014 - 11:49 AM.