Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 42 posts
  • 10 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 March 2016 - 02:35 PM

Hello everyone, it has been a while since I have posted anything mainly due to preparation for an AIB audit and learning to implement the SQF code. After reading over the general requirements, I developed two questions that don't seem to have answers. One, how do we validate in house testing on finished products for salt (NaCl). I would think that an independent standard being ran weekly would suffice for this parameter. In my old job as an analytical chemist, I had a protocol that I followed such as; ICB, ICV, CCB, CCV, spikes, spike duplicates etc. However, in our plant, we are not certified by any agency on salt testing. Secondly, a question of when a lot number is or is not valid. In the past we have used the day a batch was started even if it carried over to the next day. However, I believe that, technically speaking, anything ran after 12:00 at night should be a different lot with the reasoning being that although the ingredients were batched the day before they were not processed until the next day. The key here being "processed" rather than simply weighed and put on a pallet. So, two different questions submitted for the forum to consider today. Thanks for the help.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:15 PM