Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 15 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 September 2016 - 09:08 PM

We are a nut and snack company and our only processing step is dry roasting.  A customer asked if we sold any gluten free products and it prompted us to look into labeling guidelines and what it would cost.  Some of our mixes contain wheat but we also have a lot of product that are just plain nuts with salt, honey, or chocolate.  

So after searching the web and reading the FDA's final rule Q&A I have concluded that Gluten Free labeling is a TRAP!!

It is voluntary, no actual certifying body, no official stamp, minimal supervision, etc.  I have ZERO knowledge of this so I'm curious to see what you guys think or if your company uses gluten free labeling.

tumblr_nic8gbOGSO1u27pz3o1_1280.jpg

Attached Files

mgourley

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,403 posts
  • 997 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Cooking, golf, firearms, food safety and sanitation.

Posted 17 September 2016 - 04:10 AM

There is at least one certification body

We make some gluten free products and we have annual audits by this group.

Marshall

Thanked by 3 Members:

WowQC

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 60 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 21 September 2016 - 12:47 PM

We have done a "self certification" for gluten free. We claim gluten free on the label and must be able to back that claim up. We do this through supplier approval, process controls, and annual testing. It is a bit easier for us, as we do not have any gluten in the facility at all. Third party certification specifically for gluten free is not required, it just allows you to use a certified logo on the label, which customers may recognize.

As with any other claim on the label, you need to prove it - validate and verify ;)

WowQC

Thanked by 2 Members:

Louie S.

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 15 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral