Rehman R.

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 21 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Pakistan
    Pakistan
  • Interests:Sports, Reading, Movies, Outing etc.

Posted 10 May 2017 - 11:11 PM

Hello Everyone!

I need help finding internationally recognized test methods for PET bottles microbiology such as ISO standards or FDA guidelines etc. As for now, I am unable to find anyone, all the information available is only relevant to food microbiology only.

Thank you!

Rehman

nwells1024

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 15 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 May 2017 - 01:36 AM

I work in the packaging industry and recently have looked into microbiological testing for mold, yeast, and coliforms.  We were struggling to find any industry standards for food packaging; just food.  I finally consulted a contract microbiological lab and was informed by one of their head scientists that the focus on microbes in packaging has become much more intense in the past few years but no such standards exist.

Good luck finding better results than I!

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 11 May 2017 - 02:39 AM

Hi Rehman,

Afaik due to the temperatures typically used in manufacturing process, plastic bottles should be sterile unless subsequently contaminated by environment, handling etc.

Offhand I’m not aware of any official, compiled, general microbiological  test procedures for food packaging although specific packaging sectors certainly have their own systems. Forum members  in the Packaging industry may know more than me.

Test Procedures in use typically involve initial direct swabbing of  accessible food contact surfaces (fcs)  or  via  rinsing procedures for vessels. These procedures are detailed in standard micro texts, eg APHA.