• 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 May 2017 - 06:43 PM

Dear All,

I'm fairly new at this Food Safety, so I was hoping for some help. :smile:

We currently have our dump wash as a CCP

But I've had so much confusion with the chlorine monitoring. At the moment we monitor ph level, free chlorine and the ORP.

If someone could please explain to me the difference between total chlorine, free chlorine and available chlorine. I would really much appreciate it.

I have bought so many test strips.... :unsure:

FurFarmandFork

Food Safety Consultant, Production Supervisor

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,264 posts
  • 590 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 May 2017 - 07:15 PM

Who sold you the chlorine solution for your wash? I assume they provided validation data for what levels of chlorine would be effective for your process. Make sure you're using the same units as their validation data and you're good to go!

Use a unit that meets a standard, if it's FDA check what units they use, if it's your supplier use the units they use, etc. Only use pH if you've also got data to show it correlates with the amount of chlorine you want in the solution.

Austin Bouck
Owner/Consultant at Fur, Farm, and Fork.
Consulting for companies needing effective, lean food safety systems and solutions.

Subscribe to the blog at furfarmandfork.com for food safety research, insights, and analysis.

Thanked by 1 Member:

mambo

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 23 posts
  • 11 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 11 May 2017 - 07:17 PM

Dear MarianaN,