• IFSQN Member
  • 68 posts
  • 17 thanks
Neutral

• South Africa
    South Africa

Posted 07 July 2017 - 11:50 AM

Good day  :happydance:

This is my first time posting, thanks to all the members for sharing your ideas and helpful documents, however I'm struggling to find information on Incoming Raw material testing methods. 

Recently we had an audit, and my auditor indicated that we need to test every single raw material that enters our factory for functionality and organoleptic testing to ensure that the raw materials actually meet the spec and we not just relying on the COA for acceptability.

I have been searching the net for days now, I have even started asking my Suppliers for help .....but have not found what I'm searching for, so I'm here now  :helpplease:

Where can I find a standard or a legislation or codex documents that can provide me with organoleptic testing for Soya  Mince, Maize Flour, Salt, Maltodextrin, Herbs , Spices, Colourants, Gelatine, Flavourants.

Currently the method I use for gelatin testing is, 6.67% solution made up with hot water to determine the aroma and stability, for herbs and spices I use 1g in 100ml hot water and then taste, smell and look at the sample, however I need to find proper references or documents that indicate whats the correct way of doing Organoleptic tests on these different kind of Raw materials or if members can assist me with their current testings methods or references

Thanks in advance

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 07 July 2017 - 12:35 PM

Hi twinkle,

Pls inform what standard is being audited.

If this is for Food Safety, you might consider informing yr auditor that organoleptic characteristics are typically unrelated to FS !!!

I have no idea what "functionality" means ??

Do you utilize "Approved Suppliers" ?