The 21 CFR 150 provides two groups of permitted fruit ingredients for the manufacture of jams and preserves.
Blackberry (other than dewberry), Black raspberry, Blueberry, Boysenberry, Cherry, Crabapple, Dewberry (other than boysenberry, loganberry, and youngberry) Elderberry, Grape, Grapefruit, Huckleberry, Loganberry, Orange, Pineapple, Raspberry, red raspberry, Rhubarb, Strawberry, Tangerine, Tomato, Yellow tomato, Youngberry
Apricot, Cranberry, Damson, damson plum, Fig, Gooseberry, Greengage, greengage plum, Guava, Nectarine, Peach, Pear, Plum (other than greengage plum and damson plum), Quince, Red currant, currant (other than black currant)
I have a case of a peach jam that contains 3% peppers. Can this product still be called a jam according to the FDA definition?