• Quick Navigation
Photo

Do we have to announce formula changes with allergen additions?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

qaccount

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 19 September 2017 - 06:50 PM

Hi All,

I am new at a company currently in the middle of several formulation changes.  In an effort to "clean up" the ingredient label, they are adding coconut oil.  The oil is refined but not "highly refined," therefore, technically, an allergen is being added.  It is in the ingredient list and contains statement of the new packaging but Marketing is not making any sort of real announcement or call out.  Are there any regulations (FDA) that reference formula changes with allergen additions or are we legally compliant because the new packaging is correct to the new formula?  Any insight is appreciated!  Thanks!

FurFarmandFork

Food Safety Consultant, Production Supervisor

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,264 posts
  • 590 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 19 September 2017 - 08:22 PM

As long as it's on the packaging you have no obligation to call it out as a change.

Austin Bouck
Owner/Consultant at Fur, Farm, and Fork.
Consulting for companies needing effective, lean food safety systems and solutions.

Subscribe to the blog at furfarmandfork.com for food safety research, insights, and analysis.

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 19 September 2017 - 10:42 PM

In many countries coconut is not considered an allergen.  Botanically, coconut is classified as a fruit.  While there have been allergic reactions to coconuts, they are usually very rare.  You might want to check your countries allergens.  Don't declare an allergen unless you have to.  

Posted Image
Live Long & Prosper

Gerard H.

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 411 posts
  • 131 thanks