• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Ireland
    Ireland

Posted 11 December 2017 - 11:11 AM

Hi Everyone,

I hope someone can help me with this. I work with a trader in milk powder and help with developing specifications. We have two tests which state a max limit of <1 CFU/g for e.coli ( test method iso 11866-1) and coliforms (iso 4831/4832). Previously these specs stated <1 CFU/0.1g max.

However I don’t believe this is correct, as the testing will usually be carried out by adding 1g milk powder with 9mls diluent to reconstitute the samples, and plated with 1ml. Would I be correct in saying that the lowest reportable result would actually be <10 CFU/g and that reporting <1 for zero detected growth is incorrect?

If not, how would you be able to test for that in milk powder?

My background isn’t very thorough in micro. I’ve tried reading ISO7218 requirements and guidance for micro exams but it doesn’t explain to me clearly my question above.

Thanks for any help on this.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

earthbornstew

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 10 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Ireland
    Ireland

Posted 11 December 2017 - 04:39 PM

Additional question on above, is <10 CFU/g equivalent to <1/0.1g?

bensmith007

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 32 posts
  • 10 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 December 2017 - 06:54 PM

Hi,