• IFSQN Member
  • 57 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 16 January 2010 - 03:55 PM

Hi everyone!

I'm just wondering if is it necessary to be a graduate of microbiology or any related sciences to pursue a career in the food safety industry as an ISO 22000 auditor? I'm currently a business management graduate but I'm aiming to pursue a career as stated above.

If you have anything to say, please feel free to comment or share your ideas.
Thank you!

-Harvey C.

tomorrowguy

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Korea - South
    Korea - South

Posted 18 January 2010 - 04:57 AM

Dear Harvey :rolleyes:

I'm just wondering if is it necessary to be a graduate of microbiology or any related sciences to pursue a career in the food safety industry as an ISO 22000 auditor? I'm currently a business management graduate but I'm aiming to pursue a career as stated above.

If you would like to be FSMS(ISO 22000) auditor, you should need the folowing competence in my location.;
1. Academic background : General microbiology or General chemics etc
2. Work experience on Food chain industry
3. Food safety training which included HACCP principal, risk element and analysis etc
and PRPs, Food safety management pricipal, ISO 19011(Auitor training course include these)
4. Audit experience

The above competence is a little differnce each country but it may almost same.

muffin

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 57 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 18 January 2010 - 06:00 AM

Thanks tomorrow guy!

I was thinking that yeah, it helps if one is a graduate of microbiology or related courses but I'm way off course. I'm a graduate of business mgt. particularly in the manufacturing. Is there still hope for me to be an FSMS auditor? :mellow:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies