• IFSQN Associate
  • 35 posts
  • 7 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 29 June 2010 - 05:17 AM

Hello Everyone,

As I am relatively new to Food Safety and Quality Management, can anyone suggested some short term courses of education?

I have no prior background nor experience with FSQM but have been assigned the task of acheiving BRC Certification. I am the first person in the company to hold this position, as there were'nt any quality procedures in place prior. The extent of my experience has been researching and developing programs based off 3rd party auditing criteria and Google. Failed the first audit to lack of documentation, passed the 3 subsequent audits.

I have learned tons from reading through standard expectations, but would like to obtain a deeper knowledge base as I am sure my current knowledge is just barely the scratching the surface. As I cannot afford the luxury of going off to earn a degree, I would like to participate in short term educational courses to get me where I need to be. I would really like to bring the company up to where it should be and maybe stay in this line of work, advancing to bigger and better things.

Thanks in advance, I appreciate all replies.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 29 June 2010 - 05:55 AM

Dear EmmE,

I guess, as usual, it all depends. A little info might be helpful -

What is yr current technical background ?
(eg are you now familiar with things like HACCP ?)

as there were'nt any quality procedures in place prior.

!! What types of food does yr company make ? Hopefully not RTE :smile:

What type of audit did you already pass ?

Do you hv a budget > zero ?

One obvious answer to yr BRC commment is to use a consultant but that (and perhaps the degree of involvement) depends on things like the previous queries.

Rgds / Charles.C

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

EmmE

Grade - AIFSQN