• Quick Navigation
Photo

Is in-house calibration of metal detectors accepted?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Weebus90

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 78 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 22 November 2013 - 11:21 AM

HI Everyone, 

I am preparing for an upcoming audit and am questioning the calibration of metal detectors. 

We currently have three metal detectors and perform verification checks on them hourly.

I am new in this company and no one seems to know when the last time they were calibrated was. 

Is it required to have an outside company calibrate these machines or can in-house personnel do this and have it be accepted?

Thanks for the help!

Douglas NIcoll

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 22 November 2013 - 11:53 AM

We used a manufacture's tech to calibrate the machine. The report would show the settings to get the most sensitive reading that the machine is capable of. - this is more of a validation step and Preventative Maintenance step. Using the metal bead wands or cards at the sizes your (or your customer's) specifications require is verification that the unit is capable of detecting that size. We put the machines on a yearly check with the service reps. It is when you experience degradation of performance and need to increase the sample bead size for a successful detection that you need to get the machines serviced and recalibrated.

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 22 November 2013 - 04:21 PM

Most auditors and customers expect that your machines are re-certified annually.

Posted Image
Live Long & Prosper

Setanta

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,599 posts
  • 369 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States