• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 17 April 2014 - 09:50 PM

Hi all,

My first topic, I might be repeating something asked before, if so I apologize in advance!

I have been tooling around the different threads trying to piece together the best way to approach HACCP in my restaurant.

To give a little background...

-Based in beautiful San Diego, California.

-Full Service Restaurant

-Cryovac Soups, fish, meat

-Nothing packaged and sold, everything is for holding and using in-house for the restaurant

-I have no previous knowledge about creating HACCP Plans and everything I know is from downloaded government packets and information gathered from this site.

We were told from the Health Department that we need a HACCP Plan for all items involving the cryovac machine.

My BIG question is: Should I hire a professional company or attempt to complete the HACCP Plan myself?

The company I was considering was http://www.haccp-portal.com/

Thanks!

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,632 posts
  • 1135 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 18 April 2014 - 01:48 AM

You should be able to do it yourself. I am not familiar with haccp portal but I am familiar and recommend http://www.haccpbuilder.com  - they have full blown systems for restaurants, food processors, etc and if you need a HACCP consultant they are available directly on the website.

You should take a HACCP course as well.

Best to you.

All the Best,

All Rights Reserved,

Without Prejudice,

Glenn Oster.

Glenn Oster Consulting, LLC -

SQF System Development | Internal Auditor Training | eConsultant

Martha's Vineyard Island, MA - Restored Republic

http://www.GCEMVI.XYZ

http://www.GlennOster.com

Solare

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 18 April 2014 - 07:05 PM