• Quick Navigation
Photo

Should total plate count be included as part of biological hazards?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

zene_c

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 01 November 2015 - 02:21 AM

Good day everyone!

I work in the hotel industry and am currently revising my hazard analysis charts for ingredients.

My question is, locally we have microbiological limits for total plate count, should I then include total plate count as one of the biological hazards during hazard analysis of ingredients or should I just limit the hazard analysis to pathogens and spoilage organisms?

Thank you in advance!

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 01 November 2015 - 02:39 AM

Good day everyone!

I work in the hotel industry and am currently revising my hazard analysis charts for ingredients.

My question is, locally we have microbiological limits for total plate count, should I then include total plate count as one of the biological hazards during hazard analysis of ingredients or should I just limit the hazard analysis to pathogens and spoilage organisms?

Thank you in advance!

Hi zene-c,

total plate count / solely microbial spoilage organisms are  not classified as  biological hazards in conventional haccp/hazard analysis. The reason is that they are not regarded as directly related to the health/safety of the consumer.

However note that some species can exhibit both spoilage and pathogenic characteristics.

PS - Welcome to the Forum ! :welcome:

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

Thanked by 1 Member:

zene_c

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 01 November 2015 - 03:35 AM

Hi Charles!

Thank you for the warm welcome and for the answer to my question above.