• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 June 2016 - 11:13 PM

Hello community members,

I have a small family restaurant in Wisconsin and we've been making homemade Greek yogurt for 40+ years. Last week our health inspector informed me that we need to come up with an HACCP plan for our yogurt making process and we have until August to do so and get it approved, otherwise we will not be allowed to make our yogurt anymore. 

I have no experience with HACCP plans and don't even know where to begin. I've done some research online and haven't found much Wisconsin-specific information regarding what an HACCP plan really is and how to write one, or where to go to have one written. It's all quite overwhelming.

Can anyone give me some tips (in layman terms!) and help point me in the right direction? Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Erin V.

Dr.Khan

DR

• IFSQN Senior
  • 314 posts
  • 132 thanks
Excellent

• Australia
    Australia
  • Interests:Food, Reading technical information,provding technical help in QA,R&D,staff Training, products and processes optimisation, watching documentaries and making presentations
    AM available as consultant in Quality Assurance, Product & process development/ optimisation, staff training and trouble shooting in complex manufacturing Environment

Cal me on +61411588329 to discuss your requirements.

Am available for International Assignments

Posted 02 June 2016 - 01:46 AM

Hi ELV

you need a very simple HACCP plan. The plan usually consists of the following

1. Management Statement

2. HACCP Team

3. Scope - in your case it is just making & storage of Greek Type of yogurt from milk, 

4. Process Flow Diagram -writing down each step of the process in making yogurt

5. Hazards Analysis - list of things which can go wrong in each step

6. Hazard audit table - description of what you will do to control the identified hazards (things that can go wrong)