• Quick Navigation
Photo
- - - - -

Potable Water - Which Standards or Guidelines should I follow?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

water

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

Posted 24 February 2006 - 07:22 AM

Hello,

I am new in quality management. Currently our food processing plant is aiming to register for ISO 22000. I understand that ISO 22000 is hormonizing the world food safety standard. I am not sure about the requirement of potable water, there are some standards/ guidelines for water quality. Which standards/Guidelines should I follow?

For example, Should I follow WHO Guidelines for drinking-water quality? Thank you.

Simon

IFSQN...it's My Life

• IFSQN Admin
  • 12,528 posts
  • 1318 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Married to Michelle, Father of three boys (Oliver, Jacob and Louis). I enjoy cycling, walking and travelling, watching sport, especially football and Manchester United. Oh and I love food and beer and wine.

Posted 24 February 2006 - 08:56 AM

Hello water,

Courtesy of google here are a few definitions of potable water:
http://www.google.co...e:Potable Water

You won't find any requirements for potable water in ISO 22000; the standard is not that prescriptive. I would consult your local or national regulatory body for the requirements for your particular country, process and product.

I found an article for further reading at the link below:
Safe Water is Critical for Food Processing

Hope this helps; let us know if you have any further questions.

I'm not an expert on this type of thing - correct me if I'm wrong experts. :oops:

Regards,
Simon

hand-pointing-down.gif

Get FREE bitesize education with IFSQN webinar recordings.

Download this handy excel for desktop access to over 140 Food Safety Friday's webinar recordings.
https://www.ifsqn.com/fsf/Free%20Food%20Safety%20Videos.xlsx