• Quick Navigation
Photo

Do you have to have procedure for every topic in Module 11?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

fsweet

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 13 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 13 December 2016 - 08:17 PM

Hello! I am new to the food safety world and trying to develop / implement Level 2 in our facility, which has presented me with several questions that I would LOVE to get some clarification on.  

We produce dry drink blends, therefore none of our incoming materials or finished product requires refrigeration or temperature control.  Am I required to write procedures for PRP's that we don't use (ex. refrigeration) or do I have to write out that our products don't require it, or can I just not address it at all and skip it?  Also, can I combine 11.6.6, 11.6.7, and 11.6.9  and list it all under 11.6.6 and have the loading/unloading sheet listed under 11.6.6? or do I need to make two trailer inspection sheets specifically for 11.6.7 & 11.6.9?

I really hope my question's aren't confusing, I just really need help. 

Tporter

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 14 December 2016 - 12:27 AM

Hi kstew,

In my experience with SQF, only the elements that are marked as Mandatory must be addressed in your Food Safety Plan. As far as I can tell, none of the elements in Module 11 are mandatory. That being said, any elements that pertain to your manufacturing process must be addressed. For example, if you do not use any type of refrigeration at all in your facility, you can skip that element. Just make sure that you don't accidentally skip something.

For your second question, one PRP can cover multiple elements in the SQF plan. You don't need a separate one for each element. I found it was easiest to just incorporate everything I could into as few programs as possible to save time and energy.