Guitardr85

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 51 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:HACCP, HARPC, SQF Practitioner, FSMA, Food Safety Culture, Reading, Creative Writing, Guitars, Piano, Music, Art, Wanderlust, Traveling.

Posted 31 January 2017 - 08:41 PM

Good Morning Everyone.  

I have been working at a food company for several months now as the Quality Manager (not my first rodeo by any means) and the biggest struggle I am having is how to drive a positive food safety and quality culture.  Most of the employees, other managers, and even senior management do not take quality and food safety very seriously.  It is constantly considered a laughable matter.  Recently, my direct superior even came up to me and said, and I am paraphrasing here, that during a managers meeting they had talked about a lot of things concerning customer complaints and other quality programs and he gave me suggestions on how to proceed.  I, as the Quality MANAGER, was a little put off by this seeing as how if there was a managers meeting, I would have thought I would have been included for my own input on matters.

I am not looking for validation of my situation but rather, if anyone has any suggestions on how to start driving a more positive quality culture or at least generate more senior management buy-in/awareness of the importance of quality, I am all ears!

Thank you in advance for the positive comments!

FurFarmandFork

Food Safety Consultant, Production Supervisor

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,264 posts
  • 590 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 31 January 2017 - 11:42 PM

Yikes. Not a good situation there. But at the same time, good for you for trying to effect change rather than jump ship immediately, that's good for public health :)