• IFSQN Active
  • 23 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 08 May 2018 - 06:43 PM

Hello Community,

I am relatively new to QA and can struggle a bit. Just letting you know where I am coming from.

I work for a flour mill. In the years this company has operated there has never been a supplier verification/approval program. All deals/contracts have been handled by the owner of the company who (as a farmer himself) has close personal ties to the farmers who have supplied our company for the past 8 years. This is great but I need verification. 

I am trying to put together a supplier questionnaire for the farms we buy from, however, I am aware that the questions I need to ask, which would apply to a farm, are different than the questions on the questionnaires I receive from our customers. Can anyone point me in a direction for such questions to ask a farm for supplier verification? How to ask them?

Thank you,

KWP

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,444 posts
  • 1507 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 08 May 2018 - 07:01 PM

I'm at a vegetable processing facility........so a little bit similar

1.Are days to harvest adhered to (pesticides/fungicides/herbicides) all have a Post Application or Harvest interval that should be adhered too

2. IF manure is spread as a fertilizer, was it properly aged and did it come from human sources (yes that is a thing and legal in most places with some strings attached)

3. do they follow an on farm food safety program?  In Canada it's CanadaGap, I know there is a USA one, but can't remember the name

4. Is the equipment maintained to prevent the spead of pathogens---is it kept clean essentially

If you google on farm food safety that should help you alot

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

lentilheather

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 24 posts
  • 9 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 08 May 2018 - 08:48 PM