• IFSQN Member
  • 51 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 30 May 2018 - 12:36 AM

Hi Everyone!

Earlier this morning me and our Plant Manager talked about HACCP. She told me that it is not necessary to have training in order to identify hazards. We just need the CCP decision tree to identify those hazards. I am new to the company that's why I don't know what to say.

My question is, would a decision tree suffice our needs to identify CCP's, PRP's, oPRP's ? None of us has undergone a HACCP training yet, even our plant Manager that's why I wonder if she really know what is she saying.

can anyone help to enlighten me? 

Thanks a lot!

beautiophile

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 253 posts
  • 82 thanks
Excellent

• Vietnam
    Vietnam

Posted 30 May 2018 - 01:29 AM

Hello,

IMO, your PM was right. The importance is that staffs have knowledge, awareness of FS and ability to identify the risks.

BRC/IoP also requires that you have HARM not specific HACCP. However, there's Clause 2.1.2: "The multidisciplinary team shall have a designated team leader who shall be suitably trained and able to demonstrate competence and experience of hazard and risk analysis.". When she, a HARM leader, hasn't got a HACCP certificate, she must prove her competence with other equivalent diplomas, certificate, training records and etc.. 

Donie

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 51 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 30 May 2018 - 01:51 AM

Hello,

Thanks for your reply! In packaging we use HARM but it is still equivalent/same to HACCP. IMO it would not be easy to conduct HACCP with just a Decision tree on our hand. If we conduct HACCP without training and with our own knowledge only, then it might go wrong. We have no training, no one here knows how to do it but we're planning to ask an employee of our sister company to mentor us soon, if time permits.