• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 20 June 2018 - 06:19 PM

Hello there,

I am new to the food safety industry. I work for a very small manufacturer, who specialize in making formed frozen bread rolls, Hispanic Rolls to be exact. I recently took a PCQI Course. I am working on developing a FSP alone for our small bakery. We use the following ingredients in our rolls, i am having trouble identifying hazards on some ingridients. this is what i have so far, please provide any input on anything i should add.

Flour- possible hazards - BIOLOGICAL, ECOLI, SALMONELLA- CCP is BAKING

Soybean OIl- possible hazards- NONE

Vegetable Shortening- possible hazards- NONE

GRAN SUGAR- possible hazards- Chemical, pesticides

SALT- possible hazrds- NONE

DOH CON- possible hazards- NONE

WATER (Municipal water)- possible hazards- BIOLOGICAL- prevantative control is- Yearly testing

YEAST DRY - possible hazards- NONE

Also, any advice for this first time solo writer for the FSP would be greatly appreciated

Thank you,

Leslie Martinez

jdpaul

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 256 posts
  • 221 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 20 June 2018 - 06:43 PM

SALT

Microbiological: Halophilic organisms. Preventive control: Supplier approval program, Certificate of Analysis, etc

Justification: evaporation of water, inactivating halophilic activity.

Chemical: Heavy metals, e.g., magnesium Preventive control: Supplier approval program, Certificate of Analysis, etc

Justification: similar to that for physical.

Physical: debris such as wood, plastic, or metal. Preventive control: Supplier approval program, Certificate of Analysis, etc

Justification: Production of (assuming brined salt vs. rock salt) includes refining processes such as heating evaporation for purity of NaCl, screens to sift other materials and eliminate contamination from production environment.

I would do the same for the others.

Water would also include