• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 July 2018 - 03:34 PM

Dear All, 

I have been an IFSQN member since I was a student and now that I have finished my MSc in food sciences, I am preparing an interview for a quality manager position for a company that manufactures cooked poultry meat. The company is certified HACCP and BRC systems and I would like to ask for your assistance in identifying crucial information that I should focus on in a such interview.

- I want also to ask what motivates companies to choose for example the BRC Global standard, and not IFS or ISO 22000? What about GFSI?

- Can someone provide me a document that illustrates main points related to the BRC Global standard implementation in a company?

Kind regards

J.

Edited by Jerome, 18 July 2018 - 03:35 PM.

JS-

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,493 posts
  • 1512 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 18 July 2018 - 05:55 PM

But here are my observations

BRC---highly prescriptive and rigid---works ok in really well established locations with firmly rooted finished goods.......hard to adapt to due to lack of flexibility....some would argue because of the rigidity that it's the Gold Standard (i disagree) very euro centric (it's the British Retail Consortium after all)  "the go-to trade association for all UK retailers"

SQF -less prescriptive and written to a much more USA view that current BRC version (although some changes are afoot) but can still be challenging (particularly in slaughterhouses where rules are very very different) 

FSSC--even more room to make the program fit your establishment, but with a couple of quirks (like you have to specifically mention "no pens behind ears" to be compliant. The simplest to make work in a very complex locations like slaughter to RTE under 1 roof

All of above are GFSI- global food safety initiative

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

Jerome

Grade - Active