Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 11 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 19 July 2018 - 07:17 PM

I work in the wine industry and our company has many facilities from Western Canada to Eastern Canada - so we are looking for a certifying body for our HACCP programs. We currently use a company but have been told by an auditor that they do not have any food manufacturer experienced auditors for our program. So we are looking at other options.  Some names that have come up are SAI, SGS, NSF and TRC - just wondering if anyone has any experience with their auditors or the companies and if they would be willing to PM or answer me on here as to the good, bad and ugly of the company.  And if there are others that would be able to service our Canadian multi facilities.

Thanks so much, excited to have stumbled across this forum, have so many other questions !

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,425 posts
  • 1503 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 19 July 2018 - 07:40 PM

MMMMMMMMM wine, my favorite reason to get up every day!

Stay as far away from NSF as you can, expensive, hard to work with, terrible customer service and I might add that I feel at least 1 auditor has questionable ethics (he should have recused himself and didn't and another poster on this site in my geographical area had same problem with same auditor), oh and NSF knows they are priced above the industry standard and didn't seem to care. Things were so bad I called their bosses in from USA to deal with my many issues.

I got really good reviews from colleagues about Dicentra based in Toronto, and the owner contacted me directly, but settled on SAI global from a sheer price point, they were $2000 apart.......that's really hard to argue to the powers taht be

I asked for references and 2 other companies flat out refused......really? I thought you were trying to sell a service here

Are you audited to a GFSI or just running a straight HACCP plan?