• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 04 December 2018 - 03:52 PM

Hi there, 

Complete newbie to this and have been unsurprisingly thrown into the deep end by my company and I have no idea where to start.

We have had a consultant come in and has set up a new HACCP plan for us.  Within this plan are some new CCP's and prerequisites which, due to the inexperience of senior management, have never been seen as an issue before.  We are a fresh produce packer and all produce supplied by us is either washed or washed and cooked at the final stage before consumption by the final consumer i.e. whole Brussel sprouts, apples, pear etc. One of our processes involves ice made using mains water.  It is solely used to top fresh vegetables, which should be washed before consumption. 

Should we be environmentally testing the ice machine for listeria as has been suggested?  How do we do this? Should we test our packing surfaces for anything else? I have approached several places about this and they have been very unhelpful and start talking in scientific terms which I have no idea what they are talking about and the kit all seems expensive so can someone explain in layman terms what we should do.

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,444 posts
  • 1507 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 04 December 2018 - 04:41 PM

Ice machines can be VERY nasty machines for food borne pathogens and MUST be included on a sanitation schedule

http://www.inspectio...2/1528206588981

You should be:

Testing the main water line as well as various locations throughout your facility for potability

Testing ice from the ice maker for potability

Both of which should be done at a minimum of MONTHLY

You cannot factor in the cooking by the consumer as part of your process control..........alot of vegetables MAY be consumed raw (including Brussel sprouts)