• IFSQN Active
  • 12 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 17 July 2019 - 04:38 PM

Hi everyone,

I was hoping to get some help in creating a Label Control SOP. Any templates are welcomed. I work for a company that mainly does ready-to-eat products like creamers, lattes, coffee, etc. I'm fairly new to QC and was hoping to get some insight on what a Label Control SOP would consist of. Would it be more towards checking labels being used during production are accurate towards the product being produced or checking labels to ensure compliance with FDA. Any help is welcome, thanks in advance. :)

Ryan M.

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,326 posts
  • 479 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, crosswords, passionate discussions, laughing at US politics.

Posted 18 July 2019 - 02:22 AM

Two main parts needed.

1. Labels compliant with regulatory (FDA, USDA, etc).  This depends on the products, pack type, and destination or region of distributing / sales.
    1. Requires involvement with different departments, such as quality and R&D to review and approve labels.  Some labels require regulatory approval (typically USDA labeling).  However, if you deal with dairy / milk products this can apply as well depending on the state (location) you operate.
  2. Verify the correct labels and versions of the labels used in production.
    1. Can be a visual check and verification of the label against the "approved label".  Usually, this is done at label receipt and prior to use on the packaging line.

In your SOP you would need to identify who is responsible for what, the steps for each part, scope, frequency, records / docs, and what to do in the event you are out of compliance (corrective action).

Thanked by 1 Member:

FoodSafetyPlanet

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 88 posts
  • 31 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 18 July 2019 - 11:27 AM

Hi Lynette,