• Quick Navigation
Photo

HACCP Plan needs major overhaul, but audit is due!

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

YNA QA

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 97 posts
  • 17 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Crochet, Reading, Animals, Football

Posted 31 July 2019 - 10:43 PM

So I'm having a small dilemma and I was hoping everyone here could give me some insight/input.

I am new to this facility, and they have had several past QA Managers who have had years of experience in the food industry but zero experience in building Food Safety Programs.  The two previous in particular loved graphs and spreadsheets, and created so many and all these programs: and never followed through with more than one month of a single one...I'm guessing it was their goal to sit at their desk as much as possible to avoid any work whatsoever. 

I, while young, have had to build several HACCP plans and even designed my own Food Safety Program in a past work experience, so I know what needs done essentially.

I can have an unannounced audit starting very soon and while I've been here for only a short time, I've saved the HACCP plan review until now, so that I could learn and understand all the other programs that go into forming the HACCP Plan.  

What I'm seeing is that they have created a whole HACCP plan and because we have about 500 different raw ingredients, they have done their Raw Material Hazard Analysis based on very large groups of ingredients, vs individual: "all flavors" in house have one collective Raw Material Hazard Analysis.   Now I can see all powders, liquids, etc but not all 50 into one, they all have different bases etc.  I know that for the Food Safety Programs for FSMA this is more acceptable, but for HACCP and GFSI I have always learned to go by RM and not whole groups.