• IFSQN Member
  • 145 posts
  • 46 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 October 2019 - 09:52 PM

Good Afternoon Everyone,

It is my first time coming across this type of incident. Someone is using our label on product that is not from us. They are photocopying our label and placing it on some other product. Stores don't want to buy from us because the fraud is selling it for significantly cheaper. What can I do? We are trying to pin point the person but we do not have any leads yet. 

Kind Regards,

N. A

Hank Major

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 317 posts
  • 101 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 October 2019 - 10:06 PM

I've heard that large firms put subtle line art in their label designs that do two things: make it obvious when a label has been photocopied, and act as a sort of lot number system. They send a slightly different version of their label to each downstream customer, so that some tracking can be done on the counterfeits. 

Edit: Also, in that situation I would do a total label redesign, with more colors, curved text and shading. Make it tougher for the photocopy machine.

Edited by Hank Major, 16 October 2019 - 10:09 PM.

fepuhe

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 26 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• Indonesia
    Indonesia

Posted 17 October 2019 - 02:35 AM

several cases have occurred here, and the price player is a large company that has a large capital to buy goods on the market, and replace them with their company labels, sell them at lower prices. The aim is to strengthen their products in the market, making consumers forget about their competitors. Not trying to appoint the culprit, but it can start from your competitors.

Thanked by 1 Member:

pHruit

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,071 posts
  • 849 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm