• Quick Navigation
Photo

Estimated time frame for achieving Organic Certification if already SQF Certified?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
- - - - -

dillybar

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 27 May 2020 - 07:57 PM

Question.  My beverage facility is SQF Quality Code certified and strives to be in compliance with all FSMA guidelines.  We would like to start running organic products.  I have read the requirements for certification from some certificating bodies.  It appears if you are SQF certified most of what is required is already met.   I am being told from someone at the plant that it would take us 6 months of work to prepare for the certification.  I have a hard time believing that.   Other than preparing SOPs and changing to organic sanitizers, I feel little would need to change but then again I am not an organic expert. Organic ingredients are already sourced and used at another facility who is certified.  What am I missing that would take so long other than getting the certifying body to do the audit?          

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,668 posts
  • 1140 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 27 May 2020 - 08:27 PM

Are you going 100% organic or will this be an add on into a facility that does non-organic as well?

We develop entire documetation systems and in general I see no reason why it would take that long even if done in-house and it sounds like that is what  you are planning on doing.

Now, your source of information may be including implementation as well because the Auditor is going to want to see some paper trail, thus just like an implementation period for (let's say) SQF of minimum of 3 months that could put you at 6 months.