• Quick Navigation
Photo

How to deal with an employee with nausea due to Pregnancy?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Njaquino

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 145 posts
  • 46 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 18 June 2020 - 09:50 PM

Hey Everyone, 

I am a QA Manager for a marinades/ seasoning company and this is my first time dealing with a production employee who is pregnant. She work on a liquid line and comes in close contact. I know that if an employee shows symptoms of diarrhea or vomiting, we send them home. In this case, I know it is because she is pregnant and not because she has a food born illness. Do I keep her or send her home? I told her to leave to the restroom the moment she feel an onset but I feel like I may be placing the food at risk. Can someone help? Thanks! 

Edited by Njaquino, 18 June 2020 - 09:50 PM.

Food Police

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 50 posts
  • 9 thanks
Good

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, Biology, Stock Market, Hunting, Fishing, Motorcycles, and of course Quality Assurance (food/beverage/nutraceutical/medical device/pharma)

Posted 18 June 2020 - 11:29 PM

I think it also may be a safety concern if she is feeling feint a lot and is working out on the production floor. I dont see any real food safety hazards if there is no way bodily fluids can contact food contact surfaces etc. but I personally would want to reassign a pregnant woman to a job thats maybe light duty or not on her feet to prevent any injury from feinting/falling, which COULD result in a food safety issue, an employee injury, or a personal injury lawsuit. If vomitting is a concern, she could wear a face mask while over exposed product.

Food Police

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 50 posts
  • 9 thanks
Good

• United States
    United States