Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 250 posts
  • 63 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 23 March 2021 - 05:21 PM

I just started a new position at a food ingredient distributor.  Lots of experience with SQF but I am new to Storage & Distribution. Can someone provide a brief overview of what GMPs should be followed in Storage and Distribution compared to food manufacturing?  We do not repack or open any of the packages. Thanks! 

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,444 posts
  • 1507 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 24 March 2021 - 04:36 PM

All of the same with perhaps the personnel items (jewelry nail polish etc.)

everything else same same----clean-wash hands-no eating/drinking personnel items on the floor

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

sqflady

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 250 posts
  • 63 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 25 March 2021 - 12:44 PM

Scampi,

Thank you for your response. 

Are you saying that jewelry and nail polish could be permitted?  What about the use of hairnets and beard nets?  

liberator

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 113 posts
  • 43 thanks
Excellent

• Australia
    Australia
  • Interests:Sci-Fi - Movies/TV
    Model Kit Building
    Gardening
    Home Renovations
    Riding my Motorcycle

Posted 26 March 2021 - 03:38 AM

There are a lot of areas that you could/should consider for GMP of warehouses. As Scampi noted - really need to align the audit closely to what you would do for an actual food manufacturer with some privisos.

Overall condition of the warehouse, no large gaps in roof, around doors, excessively dirty, dust on the floor, wooden splinters from pallets, plastic wrap on floor spilled product from damages, excessive damaged and spilled product from stock movement/forklift damage. 

Doors kept closed to minimise pest entry, Forklifts, electric or gas?