Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 90 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 12 May 2021 - 12:09 PM

Hello, I make pickled vegetables in brine, we use Sodium Benzoate, potassium sorbate, calcium chloride. A potential customer wants to remove the preservatives and have the product heat treated, would anyone know the potential issues before I get too deep in this? As always thank you for your time.

Ryan M.

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,329 posts
  • 479 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, crosswords, passionate discussions, laughing at US politics.

Posted 12 May 2021 - 02:29 PM

I've got no experience in pickling, but you will potentially have yeast/mold problems without those preservatives.  It is dependent on your heat treatment, environmental air quality, and overall GMP's.

You may consider reducing shelf-life as well depending on risk assessment.

OrRedFood

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 111 posts
  • 24 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 12 May 2021 - 09:55 PM

In case you haven't you should check the CFR for acidified foods regulations on heating and schedule process.  Agreed about potential yeast/mold, depending on the pH.  

kingstudruler1

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 852 posts
  • 291 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 12 May 2021 - 11:43 PM

In case you haven't you should check the CFR for acidified foods regulations on heating and schedule process.  Agreed about potential yeast/mold, depending on the pH.  

This ^.  it appears you should have a scheduled process and changes only to made by process authority.   if you fall into this category, there are many regulations that shall be followed.  

eb2fee_785dceddab034fa1a30dd80c7e21f1d7~

Twofishfs@gmail.com

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,486 posts
  • 1511 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 13 May 2021 - 12:06 PM