• Quick Navigation
Photo

Do ALL ingredients on-site need to be listed in Product Specification Ingredient Lists?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

AltonBrownFanClub

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 120 posts
  • 43 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:I collect vintage clothing

Posted 26 August 2021 - 06:32 PM

Good afternoon IFSQN, I am new to the food safety position, and working to improve traceability before our next audit (1 month away). My question is : Does every item on site need to be documented in the product specifications & ingredients lists? We occasionally use our kitchen for product testing, so there are a lot of one-off ingredients. Will I need to document every ingredient, or just the ones being used for retail manufacturing? I am about 1.5 days in, and have already gone from 33 product spec sheets to over 110. I'm sure by the time someone responds I will have found 10 new ingredients hiding in the warehouse. Please let me know what the best course of action would be. I doubt upper management will be happy to obtain Letters of Guarantee and 3rd Party Audit Results for a single 15oz can, but I am just trying to follow the rules. Thank you.

kfromNE

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,054 posts
  • 292 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Bicycling, reading, nutrition, trivia

Posted 26 August 2021 - 07:08 PM

You shouldn't have to count R & D items. That being said - our R & D items are either stored on separate shelves in the facility and labeled R & D or are in the R&D office

Thanked by 1 Member:

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,444 posts
  • 1507 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 26 August 2021 - 07:24 PM

Agree with above poster

R&D items are not included, but should be sequestered from actual manufacturing materials

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

AltonBrownFanClub

Grade - MIFSQN