Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 24 March 2022 - 12:10 PM

Good day my fair ladies, gentlemen, and interesting miscellanea! I come to you with a question from my SQF audit that has left me utterly confused. 

( I'm still pretty new to audits and the like, and this is the first one I've been a real part of, but I'm eager, willing to learn, and in charge of fixing these non conformities. So please bear with me!)

Here is the finding:

The approved supplier program shall be 
based on the past performance of a 
supplier and the risk level of the raw 
materials, ingredients, processing aids, 
packaging, and services supplied, and 
shall contain at a minimum:
i. Agreed specifications (refer to 2.3.2);
ii. Reference to the level of risk applied to 
raw materials, ingredients, packaging, and
services from the approved supplier;
iii. A summary of the food safety controls 
implemented by the approved supplier;
iv. Methods for granting approved supplier
status;
v. Methods and frequency of monitoring 
approved suppliers;
vi. Details of the certificates of 
conformance, if required; and
vii. Methods and frequency of reviewing 
approved supplier performance and 
status

The evidence is: "2.3.4.2-Minor: The site has not assigned a risk level of the suppliers and has not performed a supplier evaluation for their performance"

I am so confused by this. We have certifications (SQF or equivalent) for these suppliers. This wasn't enough. 

Do I need to go to each of our suppliers and check them out? Do I need to contact each one of suppliers? We have a LOT of suppliers, from dairy, inclusions, boxes, jugs, chemicals, etc, along with buying supplies from retail stores. 

I am just so confused by this finding and what I need to do to fix this non conformance.