Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 June 2022 - 12:09 PM

I work as an SQF Practitioner in a bakery, one of the employees put on a nose ring, knowing that it is not allowed to wear jewelry on the production floor, the employee claims that it is a cultural expression, the employee is very good, he never misses work and we don't want to lose it, since today it is very difficult to find employees. He agreed to cover his nose rings with a metal detector band aid, has anyone been through the same situation? And by any chance do you have an example of Risk Assessment for Nose Rings?

Thank you!

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,504 posts
  • 1514 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 01 June 2022 - 12:45 PM

Is it cultural expression or religious expression?  If it turns out to be religious, you may have to accommodate depending on the law of your state

The MD band aid only covers it---if the band aid falls of unnoticed, the ring theoretically could follow later ---now you have twice as much product on HOLD

If you allow this---you may as well throw all your GMPs out the window---this is an incredibly slippery slope and you will have lost control before you can blink

Everyone is in the same employment boat----reducing requirements will not change a thing except make your life more difficult

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

gellu.olivias

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 June 2022 - 01:28 PM

Is it cultural expression or religious expression?  If it turns out to be religious, you may have to accommodate depending on the law of your state

The MD band aid only covers it---if the band aid falls of unnoticed, the ring theoretically could follow later ---now you have twice as much product on HOLD