• IFSQN Associate
  • 34 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 05 July 2022 - 10:49 AM

Hi, 

I am still very new to HACCP and work at a small poultry company where there isn't much protocol in place (i.e., I cant look back at a previous trial for reference) 

We are running plant trials for 5 new marinades (tumbling chicken + marinade then packaging) for a potential new customer. The marinades contain no allergens. 

What are the types of things I should be thinking about? Anything I need to implement with the production staff? 

Most importantly is there anything I need to document to demonstrate I have full control over this trial? 

Thanks in advance! 

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,486 posts
  • 1511 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 05 July 2022 - 11:38 AM

What exactly are you wanting to see? 

I.e. marinade penetration, more tender meat, colour change  etc.

I would be most concerned about:

temperature abuse--how are you keeping the meat 7C or below during tumbling--how will you package the product

you need some shelf life trials if this is going to be fresh product

cleaning protocol for the tumbling equipment

Does your HACCP plan currently follow the old FSEP food safety plan?  Even though you don't have to, it's probably in your best interests to do so, particularly if you are new to the job and/or a new company  and/or looking to expand your business

https://inspection.c...2/1525869759693

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

ntay96

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 34 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 05 July 2022 - 12:03 PM

Thanks Scampi. 

In regards to your last point... we use the FSEP for all our prerequisite programs. I am confused about the difference between FSEP and PCP under SFCR. Can you provide a quick distinction between the two? 

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,486 posts
  • 1511 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 05 July 2022 - 01:40 PM