Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 April 2021 - 11:00 AM

Hello all, I'm fairly new to BRC and hence would greatly appreciate the advise of the experts here in the forum. Can someone please let me know in terms of industry standards and good practices regarding Non Food contact packaging, do we need to use Food grade materials(i.e Low Migration inks/coatings and Food grade Paper/Board) for the packaging? That is to say if the prepacked food is primarily packed(by customer) with metal and there's no contact on the secondary food packaging we supplied, is it safe to say the materials for the secondary packaging doesn't need to be food grade materials? Does this still apply if the primary packaging(again done by the customer) is plastic or material used for microwavable food? I would appreciate any Feedback. Many Thanks

Ryan M.

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,327 posts
  • 479 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, crosswords, passionate discussions, laughing at US politics.

Posted 03 April 2021 - 01:21 PM

I don't know BRC standard, but I would think it is dependent on the material of your primary packaging (food contact).  Sure, anything overtime could possibly pose a risk to the food, but generally within the shelf-life secondary packaging poses little to no risk.  I haven't seen a requirement in SQF where secondary / tertiary packaging materials require food grade status.

• BluePanda likes this

Thanked by 1 Member:
NHer

beautiophile

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 252 posts
  • 81 thanks
Excellent

• Vietnam
    Vietnam

Posted 05 April 2021 - 01:25 AM