• IFSQN Member
  • 56 posts
  • 7 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 25 November 2014 - 02:34 PM

Hi everyone.

I have no background in microbiology and I need to understand some results that I just received back from the lab. The product is raw fish packaged in a oxygen permeable packaging. Has been always shipped out as 7 days shelf life.

So here is where the confusion comes in: day 4 organoleptic analysis is normal and Aerobic plate count >57,000 est CFU/g; day 5 organoleptic analysis abnormal and aerobic plate count >57,000,000 est CFU/g ... day 8 the organoleptic analysis is still abnormal, but the aerobic plate count drops to 3,000,000 CFU/g. The lactic acid bacteria starts going higher on day 5 which is 250 CFU/g. The pH is constant above 6 and the water activity 0.98. 

Why the aerobic plate count differ so much from day 7 to day 8?! 

I appreciate your help. 

Sandrahuafan

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• New Zealand
    New Zealand

Posted 25 November 2014 - 09:14 PM

Hello,

Because your product has been sealed in air tight condition = anaerobic, your aerobic microorganisms will slowly die off. However, if condition right, some facultative microbial start to increase.

Hope this is helpful.

Thanked by 1 Member:

RG3

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 501 posts
  • 169 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:"We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them" Albert Einstein

Posted 25 November 2014 - 10:50 PM